Explore Social Policy  

Discover the themes, the research and the people in Social Policy at the University of Edinburgh 

People

  Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Sudeepa Abeysinghe Lecturer in Global Health Policy Global Health Policy, Infectious Disease, Risk, sociology of scientific knowledge 2.25 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6515471
Sudeepa.Abeysinghe@ed.ac.uk
Michael Adler Emeritus Professor of Socio-Legal Studies and Leverhulme Emeritus Fellow


Michael.Adler@ed.ac.uk
Emily Adrion Lecturer, Global Health Policy Health policy, Health politics, Health systems, Health Insurance, Health services research, Health Financing, Health care utilisation, Health care for older adults, Health economics 3.26 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square

Emily.Adrion@ed.ac.uk
Khuloud Alsaba Health Inequalities and Social Determinants of Health, Social Inequalities and Health, War and Conflicts, Public Health and Development Policy, Public Health in Conflict, Political Economy of Violence, Political Economy and Health, Feminist Theory, Gender-based Violence, Political Change and Health in the Arab World, Interdisciplinary Research, Theories of social power. Ideological power, Theories of Social Justice, Intersectionality and Inequalities


s1036200@sms.ed.ac.uk
Megan Arthur Global Health Policy, Global governance, Non-state actors, Public health, Social policy


Megan.Arthur@ed.ac.uk
Majdi Ashour Health policy, Mixed methods, Public health, Gaza Strip, Health Systems Research, Households surveys, Health care seeking behaviours, Out of pocket payments, health systems in conflict affected areas, health care utilization, Epidemiology, In-depth Interviews, Life histories, Health Financing

Global Public Health Policy
s1532529@sms.ed.ac.uk
Marzia Ballardin 6.16 Chrystal Macmillan Building

650 3920
mballar2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Rachel Barry Global Health Policy, policy coherence, policy change, institutions, evidence in politics, policy communities, policy translation, policy learning, marijuana regulation, commercial regulation


s1652143@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alzbeta Bartova


Fabio Battaglia Quality of Life, Well-being, Economic Growth and Quality of Life, The Politics and Philosophy of Wellbeing, The Philosophy of Citizenship and Statehood, Democracy and Social Indicators


s1516840@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alessio Bertolini welfare systems, social exclusion, Subjective well-being, Social Inequality, Labour Market, Employment policy, Work & Labour, Social Policy


s1250360@sms.ed.ac.uk
Cara Blaisdell Children's Rights, Research methodology, Children's Participation, Research Ethics, Early childhood education and care policies, Sociology of childhood, Childhood and Youth Studies, Early childhood studies, Early intervention policy and practice


cblaisdell@gmail.com
Carine Le borgne


carine.leborgne@ed.ac.uk
Eleanor Brooks Career Development Fellow (Global Health) global health, Global Health Policy, Global health governance, policy tools in global health governance, european public health policy, European Union, Europeanization, European Union public policy 2.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 650 4282
eleanor.brooks@ed.ac.uk
Frank Castles Emeritus Professor of Social and Public Policy


Kevin Zapata Celestino Institutions and institutional change, conditional cash transfers, Mexican social policy, Mexican politics, poverty, Welfare reform politics, Welfare states, political elites, Social Policy, Policy change

+44 (0)737 672 3809
K.Celestino@ed.ac.uk
Chatthip Chaichakan social security, Thailand, welfare delivery


c.chaichakan@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ashlee Christoffersen Intersectionality, Equality policy, Race/ethnicity, gender, Sexuality, Practice, Third sector, feminism, reflexivity


Ashlee.Christoffersen@ed.ac.uk
Jochen Clasen Professor of Comparative Social Policy - Head of Subject comparative social policy, Unemployment, Labour Market, social security, European social policy, welfare reform 2.04 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 9922
Jochen.Clasen@ed.ac.uk
Daniel Clegg Director of the Graduate School of Social and Political Science; Senior Lecturer in Social Policy Unemployment, comparative social policy, welfare reform, welfare systems, Labour Market, European social policy, social security, Comparative Political Economy, French political economy, French politics 3.23 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3998
daniel.clegg@ed.ac.uk
Bronwen Cohen Honorary Professor in Social Policy Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 7793 588673
Bronwen.Cohen@ed.ac.uk
Jeff Collin Professor of Global Health Policy Global Health Policy, policy tools in global health governance, cross-border mobility of health professionals, tobacco control, tobacco control;, health impacts of population mobility and trade liberalisation 1.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3961
Jeff.Collin@ed.ac.uk
Taya Collyer Health policy, Philosophy of science, Epidemiology, Economic Theory, statistics


Taya.Collyer@ed.ac.uk
Paul Crompton Honorary Fellow


Paul.Crompton@ed.ac.uk
Ian Dey Honorary Fellow


Jan Eichhorn Senior Lecturer in Social Policy Subjective well-being, Political participation, Social capital, Social surveys, Multilevel analyses, Political Culture, Voting age reduction, Civic education, Economic policy, Unemployment 1.03 - 22 George Square

+44 (0)131 651 1382
Jan.Eichhorn@ed.ac.uk
Thomas Emery Labour Market, Unemployment, Social Policy, Longitudinal Analysis, Demography, Family Policy, Welfare Regimes


temery86@hotmail.co.uk
Neil Fraser Honorary Fellow


Neil.Fraser@ed.ac.uk
Richard Freeman Professor of Social Science and Public Policy Public policy, Social Policy, governance, Knowledge, practice 2.03
21 George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4680
richard.freeman@ed.ac.uk
Marc Grau Grau


M.Grau-Grau@sms.ed.ac.uk
Dominique L. Green Participation, Policy, Social capital, Inequality, USA, Quantitative Methods, statistical analysis, poverty, Social Policy


Dominique.Green@ed.ac.uk
Sotiria Grek Senior Lecturer in Social Policy; Centre for Science, Knowledge and Policy (SKAPE) Co-director Education governance, Education and European integration, Knowledge, Global public policy, critical social research, Europeanization, organizations and institutions, International peace-keeping operations, Institutions and institutional change, Policy 3.22 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6513 180
Sotiria.Grek@ed.ac.uk
Dan Heap social security, welfare reform, Labour Market, Active Labour Market Policy

+44 (0)131 651 1743
dan.heap@ed.ac.uk
Elke Heins Lecturer in Social Policy; Deputy Director (PG Research) of the Graduate School comparative social policy, Labour Market Policy, unemployment insurance, fuzzy set/QCA, welfare reform, trade unions, Social Determinants of Health, Health policy, Politics of health, Europeanization, Third Sector, European social policy, social investment, well-being 2.06 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 650 4049
elke.heins@ed.ac.uk
Mark Hellowell Senior Lecturer Health Systems, Public Private Partnerships, Innovative Health Taxes, Private Sector in Health, Managing Health Markets, Health policy, Healthcare Financing, Global Health Policy, Universal Health Coverage 3.24 Chrystal Macmillan Building

0131 6511330
mark.hellowell@ed.ac.uk
Rachel Hendrick


r.hendrick@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sarah Hill Senior Lecturer, Global Public Health Unit health inequalities and the social determinants of health, tobacco and health, structural drivers of health inequities including historical and institutional discrimination, role of commercial actors in non-communicable disease epidemics 2.07 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3884
s.e.hill@ed.ac.uk
Christine Huebner Citizenship, Political participation, Political identities and citizenship, Youth participation, Political Culture, Quantitative Methods, methodological innovations


Christine.Huebner@ed.ac.uk
Kamal Dokurugu Ibrahim Children's Rights, Children and childhood, research with children, Child fostering, Child labour/Child Migration, qualitative research

+44 777 4880 353
s0977721@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Gitit Kadar-Satat Research Consultant, Q-Step's Placements and Outreach Supervisor Social Inequality, Child and Adolescent Development, Time Use and Leisure, Quantitative Analysis of Large-Scale Surveys, Longitudinal Analysis, Mixed Methods, Research with Children and Young People 4.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6511 503
Gitit.Kadar-Satat@ed.ac.uk
Nikos Kanellopoulos Education governance, Educational policy discourses, Education and European integration, Europeanisation, Social Policy and the Eurozone Crisis, Critical Policy Analysis, Critical Discourse Studies, Critical Discourse Analysis, Cultural Political Economy, Critical Realism


n.kanellopoulos@ed.ac.uk
Anuj Kapilashrami Lecturer in Global Health Policy; Associate Director, Global Development Academy ethnography, Health policy, South Asia, Social movements, privatisation, commercial sector engagement / trade in health policy, global governance, gender inequalities 2.20 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 1316511929
anuj.kapilashrami@ed.ac.uk
Daniel Kenealy Lecturer in Public Policy and School Director of Quality Assurance UK Government, Whitehall, Scottish Government, Intergovernmental relations, Machinery of government, Devolution and UK constitution, UK political history 2.01
21 George Square
+44 (0) 131 650 4080
Daniel.Kenealy@ed.ac.uk
Alison Koslowski Professor of Social Policy and Research Methods Labour Market, Family Policy, care, fathers and fatherhood, surveys, Gender, Parental Leaves, circadian rhythms, sleep, basic income 2.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square

alison.koslowski@ed.ac.uk
Iryna Kushnir Europeanization, Institutions and institutional change, Policy, Ukraine, Narrative Inquiry, Higher education, Pedagogy, gender


I.Kushnir@sms.ed.ac.uk
Yi-tao Lee Children and childhood, Childhood and Youth Studies, Internet research, Children's Rights, Sociology of technology, fathers and fatherhood


s1224683@sms.ed.ac.uk
Claire Leppold Global Health, Epidemiology, Mixed Methods, health inequalities and the social determinants of health, Disasters, Public health, Japan


s1461334@sms.ed.ac.uk
Liliana Manzano Criminology, Crime prevention, Social exclusion and violence, Public policy, Quantitative Research, Neighborhood-effects, Multi-level modelling


L.E.Manzano@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lynne Robertson-Rose Automatic Enrolment, pension policy, Behavioural Economics


Lynne.Robertson-Rose@ed.ac.uk
Sara Marsden Global Health Policy, corporations and health


s.marsden@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alan Marshall Senior Lecturer in Quantitative Methods Policy, Health policy, Social Determinants of Health, disability, retirement, Population ageing, Demography 2.12C (enter through 2.12A) Chrystal Macmillan Building
George Square
+44 (0)131 6511462
Alan.Marshall@ed.ac.uk
Leah McCabe Feminism, Institutions and institutional change, women's movements, Scottish Devolution, gender and public policy, domestic abuse, feminising policy, Gender & intersectionality, policy discourses, Policy change, gender and political institutions


Leah.McCabe@ed.ac.uk
Fiona McGrath


s0127182@sms.ed.ac.uk
Caitlin McLean


caitlin.mclean@ed.ac.uk
Ewen Miller Senior Secretary G.04/5 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3925
Ewen.Miller@ed.ac.uk
Mary Mitchell Participation, Child Welfare, Social Justice, Children and Young People, families


mary.mitchell@ed.ac.uk
Fiona Morrison


s0677783@sms.ed.ac.uk
Maggie Morrison


M.Morrison-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
Liita Naukushu


L.Naukushu@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ingela Naumann Senior Lecturer in Social Policy Early childhood education and care policies, Education governance, comparative social policy, Social cleavages, Welfare reform politics 3.25 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3869
ingela.naumann@ed.ac.uk
Paul Norris Associate Dean of Progression, College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences; Senior Lecturer in Social Policy Criminology, Quantitative Methods, Quantitative Research, comparative social policy, Policing, Prisons, International perspectives on imprisonment 3.01 St John's Land
Holyrood Road
+44 (0)131 6503922
P.Norris@ed.ac.uk
Harla Sara Octarra Policy Processes, Children's Services, Inter-agency work, Children's Rights


H.S.Octarra@sms.ed.ac.uk
Cristina Asenjo Palma Well-being, Community Development, Rights-based Approaches, Asset-based Approaches, Mixed Methods, Conflict Resolution


Cristina.Asenjo@ed.ac.uk
Natalie Papanastasiou


Richard Parry Honorary Fellow in Social Policy 3.06 St John's Land

+44 (0)131 651 4742
Richard.Parry@ed.ac.uk
Lindsay Paterson Professor of Education Policy Sociology of Education, Scottish Politics, Quantitative Methods in Social Research, Education Policy 2.02
22 George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 6380
lindsay.paterson@ed.ac.uk
Mihail Petkov policy networks, Public policy, interest groups, subgovernments, policy community, lobbying


M.P.Petkov@sms.ed.ac.uk
Evgeniya Plotnikova Teaching Fellow - Global Public Health Unit Global health governance, Policy tools, Tobacco control, Migration of health professionals 3f1, 3.22 Chrystal Macmillan Building
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0) 131 650 6635
Evgeniya.Plotnikova@ed.ac.uk
Publications


Anna Pultar Education Policy, comparative social policy, the politics of education policy making, political debates and politics in the welfare state, social inequality, political ideologies and history of political thinking


anna.pultar @ ed.ac.uk
Anna Pultar Career Development Fellow (Education Policy) Education policy, inequality and social mobility, The politics of education reforms, Political ideologies and education policy discourses, Comparative Public Policy G.02
22 George Square

anna.pultar@ed.ac.uk
Lynne Robertson-Rose pension policy, retirement savings behaviour, Population ageing, Behavioural responses to social and public policy (nudge effects), Ageing & equality, Housing 2.01
22 George Square

Lynne.Robertson-Rose@ed.ac.uk
Alex Robertson Honorary Fellow


Alex_Robertson@blueyonder.co.uk
Ewan Robertson United Kingdom, European Union, Social and Public Policy, Labour Market Policy, Economic Security, In-Work Benefits, Non-Standard Employment, Welfare Reform, Welfare States


Ewan.Robertson@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Rogers Child well-being, Non-resident fatherhood, Family structure, Family law and policy, Quantitative analysis of large-scale surveys, Structural equation modelling


S.L.Rogers@sms.ed.ac.uk
Putri Viona Sari Policy Processes, Neglected Tropical Diseases, Infectious Disease


p.v.sari@ed.ac.uk
Evan Shirley Pharmaceutical policy, Pharmaceuticals, Supply Chains, Operations Research and Management Science, Game Theory, Health systems, Public health challenges in developing countries


s1471928@sms.ed.ac.uk
Adrian Sinfield Emeritus Professor of Social Policy and University Fellow


Adrian.Sinfield@ed.ac.uk
Kat Smith Professor of Public Health Policy & Director of Research (SSPS) Policy construction, Sociology of Knowledge, Knowledge transfer/exchange, Knowledge production, Health policy, Health politics, corporations and health, Public health, Evidence-based public health, Evidence & experts in policy, Social Inequality, Health inequalities, advocacy, knowledge exchange between research and policy, policy responses to health inequalities, theories of policy change, lobbying the EU 2.27 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1323
Katherine.Smith@ed.ac.uk
Catherine-Rose Stocks-Rankin Policy Processes, Knowledge transfer/exchange, Public services, Feminist ethics


cr.stocks-rankin@ed.ac.uk
Kay Tisdall Professor of Childhood Policy, Programme Director MSc Childhood Studies and Co-director of the Centre for Research on Families and Relationships Childhood and Youth Studies, Participation, Children's Rights, Socio-legal, Public policy, Child Welfare, Citizenship, Human rights, disability, Education 3.27 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3930
K.Tisdall@ed.ac.uk
Valeria Skafida Lecturer in Social Policy - School Deputy Director of Quantitative Methods & Edinburgh Q-Step Centre Policy, Social capital, Anthropology of food, sociology of food, food, Public health, Children and Young People, Children and childhood, families, Social Stratification, Social Inequality, Nutrition, Quantitative Methods, Social surveys, Longitudinal Analysis, Social Determinants of Health, Sociology of health and illness, Health policy, Scotland 1.09 Chrystal Macmillan Building

0131 651 3215
valeria.skafida[at]ed.ac.uk
Fei Wang fanancial security, Financial Security, Quantitative Research, China, Gender, Elder, Poverty, Pension policy, Upward Intergenerational Transfer


s1515840@sms.ed.ac.uk
Fran Wasoff Emeritus Professor of Family Policies
23 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 651 1943
Fran.Wasoff@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Weakley youth, Welfare states, transition to adulthood, poverty, Quantitative Methods, Longitudinal Data Analysis, US domestic policy, UK domestic policy


sarah.weakley@ed.ac.uk
Jay Wiggan Lecturer in Social Policy; Programme Director of the MSc Comparative Public Policy & MSc Policy Studies marketisation, Labour Market, welfare reform, Policy narratives, Devolution and social security, Critical Discourse Studies, Employment policy, Governance, Financialisation 3.07 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 6503939
J.Wiggan@ed.ac.uk
Alexandra Wright Health policy, policy implementation, Health Systems Research, Public policy, Knowledge exchange, Evidence, alcohol policy


alex.wright@ed.ac.uk
Runguo Wu Health Insurance, Quantitative Methods, Multilevel Modelling, Monitoring and Evaluation


runguo.wu@ed.ac.uk
Goran Zangana Health policy, Global Health Policy, Health Policy in Developing Countries, Financing, Primary Health Care, Basic Benefit Packages, User Fees


s1151890@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Bryce Zedalis Financial Regulation, Financial Fragility and Instability, Derivative Regulation, Critical Discourse Studies, Cultural Political Economy


s1419822@sms.ed.ac.uk
Xin Zhang Civil Justice, socio-legal study, Dispute Resolution, Employment law and labour policy


s0788933@sms.ed.ac.uk