Explore Social Policy  

Discover the themes, the research and the people in Social Policy at the University of Edinburgh 

People

  Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Sudeepa Abeysinghe Lecturer in Global Health Policy Global Health Policy, Infectious Disease, Risk, sociology of scientific knowledge 3.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6515471
Sudeepa.Abeysinghe@ed.ac.uk
Michael Adler Emeritus Professor of Socio-Legal Studies and Leverhulme Emeritus Fellow


Michael.Adler@ed.ac.uk
Emily Adrion Lecturer, Global Health Policy Health policy, Health politics, Health systems, Health Insurance, Health services research, Health Financing, Health care utilisation, Health care for older adults 3.26 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square

Emily.Adrion@ed.ac.uk
Megan Arthur Global Health Policy, Global governance, Non-state actors, Social network analysis, Public health, Social policy


Megan.Arthur@ed.ac.uk
Majdi Ashour Health policy, Mixed methods, Public health, Gaza Strip, Health Systems Research, Households surveys, Health care seeking behaviours, Out of pocket payments, health systems in conflict affected areas, health care utilization, Epidemiology, In-depth Interviews, Life histories, Health Financing

Global Public Health Policy
s1532529@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rachel Barry Global political economy, corporations and health, lobbying, Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR), Global Health Policy, globalisation, Comparative Politics, industrial epidemics, policy coherence


s1652143@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alzbeta Bartova


Alessio Bertolini welfare systems, social exclusion, Subjective well-being, Social Inequality, Labour Market, Employment policy, Work & Labour, Social Policy


s1250360@sms.ed.ac.uk
Cara Blaisdell Children's Rights, Research methodology, Children's Participation, Research Ethics, Early childhood education and care policies, Sociology of childhood, Childhood and Youth Studies, Early childhood studies, Early intervention policy and practice


cblaisdell@gmail.com
Carine Le borgne


carine.leborgne@ed.ac.uk
Frank Castles Emeritus Professor of Social and Public Policy


Chatthip Chaichakan social security, Thailand, welfare delivery


c.chaichakan@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ashlee Christoffersen Intersectionality, Equality policy, Voluntary sector, Race/ethnicity, gender, Sexuality, Practice


Ashlee.Christoffersen@ed.ac.uk
Jochen Clasen Professor of Comparative Social Policy comparative social policy, Unemployment, Labour Market, social security, European social policy, welfare reform 2.04 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 9922
Jochen.Clasen@ed.ac.uk
Daniel Clegg Director of the Graduate School of Social and Political Science; Senior Lecturer in Social Policy Unemployment, comparative social policy, welfare reform, welfare systems, Labour Market, European social policy, social security, Comparative Political Economy, French political economy, French politics 3.23 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3998
daniel.clegg@ed.ac.uk
Bronwen Cohen Honorary Professor in Social Policy Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 7793 588673
Bronwen.Cohen@ed.ac.uk
Jeff Collin Professor of Global Health Policy Global Health Policy, policy tools in global health governance, cross-border mobility of health professionals, tobacco control, tobacco control;, health impacts of population mobility and trade liberalisation 2.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3961
Jeff.Collin@ed.ac.uk
Paul Crompton Honorary Fellow


Paul.Crompton@ed.ac.uk
Ian Dey Honorary Fellow


Jan Eichhorn Lecturer in Social Policy (Chancellor's Fellow) Subjective well-being, Political participation, Social capital, Social surveys, Multilevel analyses, Political Culture, Voting age reduction, Civic education, Economic policy, Unemployment 1.03 - 22 George Square

+44 (0)131 651 1382
Jan.Eichhorn@ed.ac.uk
Thomas Emery Labour Market, Unemployment, Social Policy, Longitudinal Analysis, Demography, Family Policy, Welfare Regimes


temery86@hotmail.co.uk
Neil Fraser Honorary Fellow


Neil.Fraser@ed.ac.uk
Richard Freeman Professor of Social Science and Public Policy Public policy, Social Policy, governance, Knowledge, practice 2.03
21 George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4680
richard.freeman@ed.ac.uk
Marc Grau Grau


M.Grau-Grau@sms.ed.ac.uk
Dominique L. Green Participation, Policy, Social capital, Inequality, USA, Quantitative Methods, statistical analysis, poverty, Social Policy


Dominique.Green@ed.ac.uk
Sotiria Grek Senior Lecturer in Social Policy; Centre for Science, Knowledge and Policy (SKAPE) Co-director Education governance, Education and European integration, Knowledge, Global public policy, critical social research, Europeanization, organizations and institutions, International peace-keeping operations, Institutions and institutional change, Policy 3.22 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6513 180
Sotiria.Grek@ed.ac.uk
Dan Heap social security, welfare reform, Labour Market, Active Labour Market Policy

+44 (0)131 651 1743
dan.heap@ed.ac.uk
Elke Heins Lecturer in Social Policy comparative social policy, Labour Market Policy, unemployment insurance, fuzzy set/QCA, welfare reform, trade unions, Social Determinants of Health, Health policy, Politics of health, Europeanization, Third Sector, European social policy, social investment, well-being 2.06 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 650 4049
elke.heins@ed.ac.uk
Mark Hellowell Senior Lecturer 2.02
22 George Square
0131 6511330
mark.hellowell@ed.ac.uk
Rachel Hendrick


r.hendrick@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sarah Hill Director, Global Public Health Unit health inequalities and the social determinants of health, tobacco and health, structural drivers of health inequities including historical and institutional discrimination, role of commercial actors in non-communicable disease epidemics 2.07 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3884
s.e.hill@ed.ac.uk
Christine Huebner Citizenship, Political participation, Political identities and citizenship, Youth participation, Political Culture, Quantitative Methods, methodological innovations


Christine.Huebner@ed.ac.uk
Kamal Dokurugu Ibrahim Children's Rights, Children and childhood, research with children, Child fostering, Child labour/Child Migration, qualitative research

+44 777 4880 353
s0977721@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Nikos Kanellopoulos Education governance, Educational policy discourses, Education and European integration, Eurozone crisis, critical social research, Critical Discourse Analysis


n.kanellopoulos@ed.ac.uk
Anuj Kapilashrami Lecturer in Global Health Policy, Programme Director for MSc. in Global Health & Public Policy Associate Director, Global Development Academy ethnography, Health policy, South Asia, Social movements, privatisation, commercial sector engagement / trade in health policy, global governance, gender inequalities 2.20 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 1316511929
anuj.kapilashrami@ed.ac.uk
Daniel Kenealy Lecturer in Public Policy British government, British political history, UK foreign policy, UK national security policy, Devolution and constitutional change in the UK, History and theory of European integration, Interviewing elites, Archival research, Document analysis 2.01
21 George Square
+44 (0) 131 650 4080
Daniel.Kenealy@ed.ac.uk
Alison Koslowski University of Edinburgh Q-Step Director; Senior Lecturer in Social Policy Labour Market, gender, Family Policy, care, fathers and fatherhood, surveys 1.09 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1147
alison.koslowski@ed.ac.uk
Iryna Kushnir Europeanization, Institutions and institutional change, Policy, Ukraine, Narrative Inquiry, Higher education, Pedagogy, gender


I.Kushnir@sms.ed.ac.uk
Yi-tao Lee Children and childhood, Childhood and Youth Studies, Internet research, Children's Rights, Sociology of technology, fathers and fatherhood


s1224683@sms.ed.ac.uk
Claire Leppold Global Health, Epidemiology, Mixed Methods, health inequalities and the social determinants of health, Disasters, Public health, Japan


s1461334@sms.ed.ac.uk
Liliana Manzano Criminology, Crime prevention, Social exclusion and violence, Public policy, Quantitative Research, Neighborhood-effects, Multi-level modelling


L.E.Manzano@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lynne Robertson-Rose Automatic Enrolment, pension policy, Behavioural Economics


Lynne.Robertson-Rose@ed.ac.uk
Sara Marsden Global Health Policy, corporations and health


s.marsden@sms.ed.ac.uk
Leah McCabe Feminism, Feminist institutionalism, Institutions and institutional change, Political representation, women's movements, Scottish Devolution, gender and public policy, domestic abuse, feminising policy, Gender & intersectionality


Leah.McCabe@ed.ac.uk
Fiona McGrath


s0127182@sms.ed.ac.uk
Caitlin McLean


caitlin.mclean@ed.ac.uk
Ewen Miller Senior Secretary G.04/5 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3925
Ewen.Miller@ed.ac.uk
Mary Mitchell Participation, Child Welfare, Social Justice, Children and Young People


m.a.s.mitchell@sms.ed.ac.uk
Fiona Morrison


s0677783@sms.ed.ac.uk
Maggie Morrison


M.Morrison-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
Liita Naukushu


L.Naukushu@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ingela Naumann Senior Lecturer in Social Policy Early childhood education and care policies, Education governance, comparative social policy, Social cleavages, Welfare reform politics 3.25 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3869
ingela.naumann@ed.ac.uk
Paul Norris Director of the Undergraduate School - School of Social and Political Science; Lecturer in Social Policy Criminology, Quantitative Methods, Quantitative Research, comparative social policy, Policing, Prisons, International perspectives on imprisonment 1.11 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6503922
P.Norris@ed.ac.uk
Harla Sara Octarra Policy Processes, Children's Services, Inter-agency work, Children's Rights


H.S.Octarra@sms.ed.ac.uk
Natalie Papanastasiou


Richard Parry Honorary Fellow in Social Policy 3.06 St John's Land

+44 (0)131 651 4742
Richard.Parry@ed.ac.uk
Lindsay Paterson Professor of Education Policy Sociology of Education, Scottish Politics, Quantitative Methods in Social Research, Education Policy 3.24 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 6380
lindsay.paterson@ed.ac.uk
Mihail Petkov policy networks, Public policy, interest groups, subgovernments, policy community, lobbying


M.P.Petkov@sms.ed.ac.uk
Evgeniya Plotnikova Research Fellow - Global Public Health Unit Global health governance, Policy tools, Tobacco control, Migration of health professionals 2.13 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 5120
Evgeniya.Plotnikova@ed.ac.uk
Publications


Anna Pultar Education Policy, comparative social policy, the politics of education policy making, political debates and politics in the welfare state, social inequality, political ideologies and history of political thinking


anna.pultar @ ed.ac.uk
Lynne Robertson-Rose pension policy, retirement savings behaviour, , Aging & Equality, Economic Issues in Social POlicy, Taxation, Housing, Behavioural responses to social and public policy (nudge effects) 2.04 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 9922
Lynne.Robertson-Rose@ed.ac.uk
Alex Robertson Honorary Fellow


Alex_Robertson@blueyonder.co.uk
Sarah Rogers Child well-being, Non-resident fatherhood, Family structure, Family law and policy, Quantitative analysis of large-scale surveys, Structural equation modelling


S.L.Rogers@sms.ed.ac.uk
Putri Viona Sari Policy Processes, Neglected Tropical Diseases, Infectious Disease


P.V.Sari@sms.ed.ac.uk
Evan Shirley Pharmaceutical policy, Pharmaceuticals, Supply Chains, Operations Research and Management Science, Game Theory, Health systems, Public health challenges in developing countries


s1471928@sms.ed.ac.uk
Adrian Sinfield Emeritus Professor of Social Policy and University Fellow


Adrian.Sinfield@ed.ac.uk
Katherine Smith Reader, Global Public Health Unit and Co-Director of SKAPE (the Centre for Science, Knowledge and Policy at Edinburgh) Policy construction, Sociology of Knowledge, Knowledge transfer/exchange, Knowledge production, Health policy, Health politics, corporations and health, Public health, Evidence-based public health, Evidence & experts in policy, Social Inequality, Health inequalities, advocacy, knowledge exchange between research and policy, policy responses to health inequalities, theories of policy change, lobbying the EU 2.27 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1323
Katherine.Smith@ed.ac.uk
Catherine-Rose Stocks-Rankin Policy Processes, Knowledge transfer/exchange, Public services, Feminist ethics


cr.stocks-rankin@ed.ac.uk
Kay Tisdall Professor of Childhood Policy, Programme Director MSc Childhood Studies and Co-director of the Centre for Research on Families and Relationships Childhood and Youth Studies, Participation, Children's Rights, Socio-legal, Public policy, Child Welfare, Citizenship, Human rights, disability, Education 3.27 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3930
K.Tisdall@ed.ac.uk
Morag Treanor Lecturer in Social Policy; Programme Director MSc Social Research; Social Policy Research Convenor Social Inequality, Subjective well-being, Social statistics, child poverty, family poverty, child development, Social capital, Family relationships, Education, Quantitative Methods, Qualitative Research Methods 2.25 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3918
morag.treanor@ed.ac.uk
Valeria Skafida Lecturer in Quantitative Social Policy, Q-Step; Programme Director of MSc Policy Studies & MSc Comparative Public Policy Policy, Social capital, Anthropology of food, sociology of food, food, Public health, Children and Young People, Children and childhood, families, Social Stratification, Social Inequality, Nutrition, Quantitative Methods, Social surveys, Longitudinal Analysis, Social Determinants of Health, Sociology of health and illness, Health policy, Scotland 2.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building

0131 651 3215
valeria.skafida[at]ed.ac.uk
Fran Wasoff Emeritus Professor of Family Policies
23 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 651 1943
Fran.Wasoff@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Weakley youth, Welfare states, transition to adulthood, poverty, Quantitative Methods, Longitudinal Data Analysis, US domestic policy, UK domestic policy


sarah.weakley@ed.ac.uk
Jay Wiggan Lecturer in Social Policy; welfare systems, marketisation, Left-libertarianism, Labour Market, welfare reform, Policy narratives, Devolution and social security, disability, discourse analysis 3.07 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 6503939
J.Wiggan@ed.ac.uk
Alexandra Wright Health policy, policy implementation, Health Systems Research, Public policy, Knowledge exchange, Evidence, alcohol policy


alex.wright@ed.ac.uk
Runguo Wu Health Insurance, Quantitative Methods, Multilevel Modelling, Monitoring and Evaluation

+44 (0) 7857456195
runguo.wu@ed.ac.uk
Goran Zangana Health policy, Global Health Policy, Health Policy in Developing Countries, Financing, Primary Health Care, Basic Benefit Packages, User Fees


s1151890@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Xin Zhang Civil Justice, socio-legal study, Dispute Resolution, Employment law and labour policy


s0788933@sms.ed.ac.uk